Purchasing a Marriage License

Download and print the forms above and bring them with you to the County Clerk's Office. You may also fill out an application for a Marriage License online. Your application will be transmitted to the County Clerk’s office. When you are ready, take the necessary documentation and your payment to the County Clerk's Office. Your application will be waiting for you. Electronic applications will be available for 5 days after you enter them.

To purchase a marriage license each person applying must appear before the Bexar County Clerk at:

Bexar County Clerk

Paul Elizondo Tower
101 W. Nueva Suite 120
San Antonio, Texas 78205

See Map of the Courthouse and the Frequently Asked Questions

To purchase a marriage license, you must:

1Submit Proof of Age & Identity

Both applicants must submit proof of age and identity. Common forms of identification used to obtain a marriage license include: Driver’s License; an original or certified copy of Birth Certificate; Passport; Visa or Military identification card.

2Provide your Social Security Number

Each applicant is required to present their Social Security Number (If applicable).

3Pay $81.00 Application Fee (Cash Only)

Cash is the only acceptable form of payment.

Map of Bexar County Courthouse, Justice Center & Paul Elizondo Tower (PET)

There are two buildings connected to the courthouse. Building 1 is the courthouse. Building 2 is the Justice Center. Building 3 is the Paul Elizondo Tower (PET).

There is a tunnel located in the basement. The tunnel connects the courthouse to the Justice Center (see the dotted lines below). To access the tunnel, go through the sliding glass doors located next to the elevators in the basement of the courthouse. To enter the PET from the Justice center, go across the courtyard.

Where are you located?

101 W. Nueva Suite 120
San Antonio, TX 78205
Paul Elizondo Tower First Floor

What are your hours of operation of the County Clerk’s Office?

Monday - Friday
8:00AM-5:00PM
Excluding Holidays

What do we need to purchase a marriage license?

  • Both applicants must submit proof of age and identity. Common forms of identification used to obtain a marriage license include: Driver’s License; an original or certified copy of Birth Certificate; Passport; Visa or Military identification card.
  • Each applicant is required to present their Social Security Number (If applicable)
  • $81.00 Cash Only

When does the marriage license expire?

A marriage license is valid for 90 days from the date it is issued.

Can I get married on the same day I purchase my marriage license?

Texas law requires that the marriage ceremony may not be performed during the 72 hours immediately after the marriage license was issued; however, there are certain exceptions to the 72-hour waiting period.

The list of 72-Hour Waiting Period Exceptions are listed below:

  • If the applicants obtains a written waiver from a judge;
  • If one of the applicants is an active duty member of the armed forces of the United States; the active duty military person must show identification.
  • If the applicants submit the premarital education course certificate from Twogether in Texas.
  • If applicants are remarrying each other, the 72-hour waiting period does not apply.

Can I apply for a marriage license immediately after my divorce is finalized?

An applicant may apply for a marriage license after the 31st day the divorce is finalized (Family Code 6.801). If the divorce was finalized within the 30 days, the applicant must provide a certified copy of the divorce decree which states that the 30-day waiting period has been waived. Former spouses may marry each other at any time.

Do both applicants need to be present in order for the County Clerk’s Office to issue a marriage license?

If an applicant who is 18 years of age or older is unable to appear personally before the county clerk to apply for a marriage license, any adult person or the other applicant may apply on behalf of the absent applicant. The person applying on behalf of an absent applicant shall provide to the clerk the notarized “affidavit of absent applicant” and proof of the identity and age of the absent applicant. The “affidavit for the absent applicant” must include certain information, and must be notarized and have original signatures before applying for marriage license.

If both applicants are unable to be present to obtain a marriage license, can another adult person obtain a marriage license for the applicants?

The county clerk may not issue a marriage license for which both applicants are absent unless the person applying on behalf of each absent applicant provides to the clerk an affidavit of the applicant declaring that the applicant is a member of the armed forces of the United States stationed in another country in support of combat or another military operation. Military identification is also required for each applicant who is not present to obtain the marriage license. https://gov.kofiletech.us/TX-Bexar/forms/Affidavit_Absent_Application.pdf

Can a marriage ceremony occur if my fiancé is not able to participate in the marriage ceremony?

The appointment of any adult, other than the other applicant, to act as proxy for the purpose of participating in the ceremony is allowed if the absent applicant is: (A) a member of the armed forces of the United States stationed in another country in support of combat or another military operation; and (B) unable to attend the ceremony.

Can a minor get married?

A person under the age of 18 years of age may not marry unless the person has been granted by this state or another state, a court order removing the disabilities of minority of the person for general purposes. (Texas Family Code 2.003) A Certified Copy of order must be submitted along with original birth certificate of minor.

How can we take the Twogether in Texas Class?

You would need to contact the Twogether in Texas Program. The phone number is 211 or (512) 206-5594. You may also to the website: http://www.twogetherintexas.com/UI/Faq.aspx. When a couple presents the Twogether in Texas Certificate, the 72-hour waiting period is waived; The Twogether in Texas Certificate is valid for one year from the date the course was taken; the couple is eligible for a discount of $60.00 from the marriage license fee.

Can I get married in any county in Texas?

Yes, you may obtain a marriage license from Bexar County and get married in any county in the state of Texas. (Texas family code 2.001)

If I did not purchase my marriage license in Bexar County, can I record it in Bexar County?

No, you may only record a marriage license in Bexar County if the marriage license was purchased in Bexar County.

Can I obtain a copy of my marriage license from another county, city, state or country here?

The Bexar County Clerk’s Office is able to provide copies of a marriage license and copies of a Declaration of Informal Marriage certificates if the documents were recorded in Bexar County. The Bexar County Clerk’s Office can provide a copy of a marriage license issued in Bexar County from 1837 to the present day.

May I send someone else, in my place to pick up a copy or a certified copy of my marriage license?

A marriage license is public record, therefore, anyone can obtain a copy of a marriage license.

Where can I get my name changed after the marriage license has been recorded?

If you chose to change your name due to marriage, you may do so through the Texas Department of Public Safety and the Social Security Administration, however the name on the marriage license will not change.

If I did not purchase my marriage license in Bexar County, can I obtain a copy of my marriage license in Bexar County?

No, you can only obtain a copy of a marriage license that was recorded in Bexar County.